Fantastic Four ***

  

IMDB Synopsis: Four young outsiders teleport to an alternate and dangerous universe which alters their physical form in shocking ways. The four must learn to harness their new abilities and work together to save Earth from a former friend turned enemy.

Once again I seem to be at odds with the universe. “Fantastic Four” seemed destined to be hated by everyone. From the casting choices, director and the reboot status it seemed the filmmakers could do no right. Now that it has been seen by audiences it has become an epic failure. Now I have finally seen it and you know what, it is pretty good. There are flaws yes but I found this to be quite enjoyable.

I liked the performances, the story and the visual effects. If anything I wish the filmmakers had a bigger budget so that they could tell a more epic story. Instead most of the action is delegated to the third act which is fine. I don’t need a roller coaster of action sequences. But as far as super hero movies go this one is rather light.

I think this will be one of those times that I don’t go looking for answers as to why people disliked this film so much. I’m content with the fact that I enjoyed it. I have a feeling a lot of the hate isn’t even directed at the film itself.

Leave a Reply

