The Best Films Of 2014

These were my favourite films of 2014.

2015/01/img_1142.jpg

13 “Guardians Of The Galaxy” “I am Groot.”

2015/01/img_1141.jpg

12 “The Babadook” “You can’t get rid of the Babadook.”

2015/01/img_1163.jpg11 “Selma” “Who murdered Jimmie Lee Jackson? Every white lawman who abuses the law to terrorize. Every white politician who feeds on prejudice and hatred. Every white preacher who preaches the bible and stays silent before his white congregation. Who murdered Jimmie Lee Jackson? Every Negro man and woman who stands by without joining this fight as their brothers and sisters are brutalized, humiliated, and ripped from this Earth.”

2015/01/img_1140.jpg

10 “The Equalizer” “I’ve done some bad things in my life, Nicolai… Things I’m not proud of. I promised someone I love very much that I would never go back to being that person… But for you, I’ll make an exception.”

2015/01/img_1139.jpg

9 “Inherent Vice” “ows up with a story about her current billionaire- developer boyfriend, and his wife, and her boyfriend, and a plot to kidnap the billionaire and throw him in a loony bin…Maybe you should just look the other way.”

2015/01/img_1138.jpg

8 “Joe” “I don’t know who I am, but I know what keeps me alive is restraint. Keeps me out of jail. Keeps me from hurting people. A mark of some fucked-up faith that there’s a reason. A reason for all this. A reason in most moments I shouldn’t do what I wanna do. Do as I’m told.”

2015/01/img_1137.jpg

7 “The Skeleton Twins” “That is bullshit. You’re my brother. And we’re supposed to be there for each other. And if you don’t get that by now, then, I don’t know, I guess I’ll talk to you in another ten years.”

2015/01/img_1136.jpg

6 “The Grand Budapest Hotel” “You’re looking so well, darling, you really are… they’ve done a marvelous job. I don’t know what sort of cream they’ve put on you down at the morgue, but… I want some.”

2015/01/img_1135.jpg

5 “Birdman” “It’s important to me! Alright? Maybe not to you, or your cynical friends whose only ambition is to go viral. But to me… To me… this is – God. This is my career, this is my chance to do some work that actually means something.”

2015/01/img_1134.jpg

4 “Whiplash” “Were you rushing or were you dragging? If you deliberately sabotage my band, I will gut you like a pig. Oh my dear God – are you one of those single tear people? You are a worthless pancy-ass who is now weeping and slobbering all over my drumset like a nine year old girl!”

2015/01/img_1133.jpg

3 “Boyhood” “You know how everyone’s always saying seize the moment? I don’t know, I’m kind of thinking it’s the other way around, you know, like the moment seizes us.”

2015/01/img_1132.jpg

2 “Chef” “Ten years ago, I had the good fortune to dine at Chef Casper’s revelatory Miami bistro, Marrow. The sheer audacity of this fresh, brave voice of the culinary scene reminded me why I write about food as a vocation. It is nearly impossible to separate my glowing regard for Chef Casper and how much he inspired me from my expectations as I sat down to dine at the recently remodeled Brentwood Gallic staple, Gauloises. Oh, how times have changed.”

2015/01/img_1131.jpg

1 “Nightcrawler” “My motto is if you want to win the lottery you’ve got to make money to get a ticket.”

Leave a Reply

