Inherent Vice ****

IMG_1169

Paul Thomas Anderson is back with one of his most bizarre films to date. This one is a little bit lighter than his previous works such as 2012’s “The Master”. That does not make it any less compelling at all. This is a brilliant and mysterious film that tested my limits on what I could tell was real or just a drug induced vision.

To describe the plot of this film might cause me to have a drug fuelled bender of my own. It involves a Private Investigator named Doc Sportello who is hired by his ex-girlfriend to to find her new boyfriend, a wealthy real estate developper, who may have been kidnapped. This leads Doc in to contact with a variety of weird and interesting characters played by Owen Wilson, Josh Brolin, Reese Witherspoon, Benicio Del Toro, and Martin Short.

I don’t think I was able to fully absorb the movie with one viewing. It is one of those flicks that you need to see two or three times to really make some kind of sense of it all. Maybe even more than that. All I can really say is that even though I didn’t fully grasp everything yet I found it to be one of those truly absorbing experiences in cinema. One that I will not forget for a long time.

Leave a Reply

