The Gambler **1/2

  

“The Gambler” is one of those movies that has flashes of brilliance but it just not consistent enough for me to fully reccommend. I didn’t really get that passion or intensity that you might expect from a movie like this.

I can’t really put my finger on why I didn’t connect with any of this. Maybe it was the filmmakers just going through the motions or the actors that all seemed kind of muted in my opinion. I didn’t really feel like there was any real stakes or danger even though the dialogue was suggesting it.

I did enjoy some of the back room drama that involved actual gambling. It was an interesting peek behind the curtains of what real gamblers deal with. I just maybe wish that this was the actual focus of the plot instead of all the actual drama that the filmmakers honed in on.

Leave a Reply

