Blended ***

IMG_1044.JPG

I went in to “Blended” ready to hate it. I have been a staunch defender of Adam Sandler for years. I have enjoyed most of his movies. His time on SNL was where this love affair started. But even I cannot find anything likeable in movies like “Grown Ups”, “Grown Ups 2” or “Jack And Jill”. For the first time in a while the trailer for one of his movies looks awful. I had a bad feeling from the start with the marketing for “Blended”. It also opened with the lowest grosses a Sandler movie has seen in years. But when I finally saw it I was surprised at just how funny it was. None of this makes sense.

The plot is pretty stupid and fits right in with the most recent Adam Sandler movies but the characters this time are likeable and the dialogue is really funny. Don’t get me wrong, this is not awards worthy but on a nice summer night when you want some mindless comedy, this film works. Teaming up with Drew Barrymore a third time seems to have done the trick as they have had nothing but success together so far.

So what does Sandler do now? His fans didn’t show up in full force for one of his better comedies. They could not have enjoyed the two “Grown Ups” movies even though they were box office smashes. “Jack and Jill” I will not comment on. Where does he go from here?

Leave a Reply

