Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa ***1/2

20140119-191924.jpg

What can I say about “Jackass Presents Bad Grandpa”? I laughed mostly from start to finish. I can always rely on the “Jackass” brand to cause me to laugh in a way in which I almost feel cathartic afterwards. This time they have actually assembled a plot and a story which sort of works but is still a setup to prank unsuspecting bystanders in the most outrageous ways possible.

The moments that stood out the most for me were the beauty pageant, the wedding scene and the ladies night at a local pub.

The beauty pageant is a homage to “Little Miss Sunshine” in a way. The “Jackass” crew take it to a new level that is simply hysterical. The wedding scene is so sudden that you don’t see it coming. I almost wish that they didn’t reveal it in the trailers because it would have been way more shocking.

After four movies you should have decided if this brand of comedy is for you or not. I for one hope these guys keep making movies. It was a nice escape during the heavy awards season.

Leave a Reply

