R.I.P.D. **1/2

20131106-010237.jpg

“R.I.P.D.” is not the disaster I thought it would be. The trailers looked pretty awful, then the movie flopped at the box office. It also suffered negative reviews and poor word of mouth. Some how I gave it a shot anyway and I have to say I was pretty entertained. Not enough to recommend the movie, but enough to say I didn’t regret watching it. Sure it is over the top and full of awful CGI but honestly I was laughing quite a bit.

Jeff Bridges and Ryan Reynolds play officers of the Rest In Peace Department. They are an undead police force that sort of exist between life and death. Their job is to track down dead souls that refuse to accept their fate and are hanging on to a body. Their presence gradually deteriorates the life out of everything around them. They become a horrible CGI grotesque until they are finally eradicated by the R.I.P.D.

Bridges plays a law man from the 1800’s. Think of his Rooster Cogburn from “True Grit” except with a modern sense of humour. Reynolds is a recent recruit who was murdered by his partner over the theft of some gold. Together they actually produce some great comedic chemistry as a couple of weird ghostbusters.

“R.I.P.D” really has no ambitions other than to be a sort of low rent “Men In Black” type of movie. A lot of it is pretty funny. The actors make it watchable for most of it’s hour and thirty minute running time. I don’t really see how it could of been a better movie. The plot really doesn’t suggest that could of been any different in the hands of a different director or writer. It is another example of CGI overkill.

Leave a Reply

