Cabin In The Woods ***1/2

20120520-221142.jpg

“Cabin In The Woods” is the most bad-ass horror movie I have seen in years. The last truly awesome horror flick I saw was “The Descent” back in 2005.

To describe the plot in detail would spoil all the fun and surprises. When I saw the trailer for this movie initially I thought that had revealed too much of the plot but believe me when I say that they have revealed very little.

On The surface this all seems like a straight forward story where a group of teenagers head to a cabin in the woods where they must fight against unspeakable horrors. Underneath is something different altogether. I want so badly to describe it but I just can’t.

What I will say is that this film is from the minds of Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard. Together they turn the horror genre upside down and pay homage to it at the same time. There were so many references to other classic horror films that I just could not keep up. They obviously loved films like “Hellraiser”, “Evil Dead”, and “Night Of The Living Dead”, just to name a few.

Leave a Reply

