Goon ***

20121107-210541.jpg

“Goon” is a pleasant surprise. I thought for sure it was going to be more in line with “Slap Shot” but I found myself comparing it to movies like last year’s “Warrior”. Sure there is a lot of comedy in it but there is also a lot of heartfelt and honest performances from Sean William Scott and Liev Schreiber.

Sean William Scott plays Doug “The Thug” Glatt, who is based on a real life hockey player. He is a some what dim witted soul who is recruited by a local hockey team because he can defend his team by dishing out vicious beatings. His main nemesis is Ross “The Boss” Rhea, played by Schreiber. He is an aging player who has made a career out of being an enforcer but his latest antics have him demoted from the pro level down to the minors.

Most sports movies demand that everything lead up to a big game where the two main characters must face off and boy do these two go at it. Their battle is one of the most entertaining fight’s I have seen on screen this year. I found myself more interested in the quieter moments such as Glatt’s romance with a very confused girl.

My favorite moment in the movie though is a moment when Glatt stumbles upon Rhea eating in a diner in the middle of the night. They sit down together and have one of the most honest conversations I have ever seen in a sports movie. Rhea in particular talks about dedication and respect. For me this might be my favorite Liev Schreiber scene out of any movie he has been in.

This is one of the few times that I would hope a movie like this gets a sequel because I wanted to know what happens after the final game is over. Hopefully a rematch!

Leave a Reply

