Immortals **

M822rv2  Henry Cavill stars in Relativity Media's IMMORTALS.  © 2011 War of the Gods, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
“Immortals” is a maddening film.  From a visual and technical point of view this is one of the most breathtaking films I have seen.  It is too bad that the story is a confusing mess and the characters are all made of card board.

The director is Tarsem Singh.  His previous credits include “The Cell” and “The Fall”.  Two movies that have stuck with me for many years.  Here he takes his incredible visual style and molds it on to a brainless action fantasy.

I can’t even begin to explain the story because honestly I was confused most of the way.  From what I could gather, King Hyperion, played gruffly by Mickey Rourke, is trying to conquer Greece and only Theseus, played by the future Superman Henry Cavill, can stop him.  The only details I can add are that characters come and go with no rhyme or reason, including the gods who keep proclaiming that they will not get involved yet keep appearing to save the heroes from certain death.

What stuck with me were the incredible set pieces, costumes, CG effects as well as special effects.  Every image is created as if it started as a beautiful painting.  But then it is punctuated by loud, hammering action sequences that abandon traditional sword play in favor of mass slaughter.

What has happened to the cinema.  Why have action movies reached this point where we are forced to accept visual chaos as well as ear destroying sound designs in place of beautifully choreographed sequences that really tease our sense of wonder.  I will say that the battle between the gods and the titans was pretty impressive.  But every other battle is basically random close ups of stabbings, skewering’s, beheadings, body parts flying and sprays of blood.  All of it shot with the camera jammed right in to the action so that we can’t follow it logically.

I have to say that I am indifferent to this film.  My rating of it really means nothing.  I do not regret having seen it but I don’t think I could survive another viewing.

2 responses to “Immortals **

  1. It’s probably one of the best-looking films of the whole year (yet, I still haven’t seen Tree of Life) and the action is awesome and in-you-face which is something I always like. The story dragged on a bit and I couldn’t help but think that if the writing was a tweaked a little better, this would have definitely been a very solid film. Instead it was just fun and pretty to look at. Good review.

  2. oh dear…LOL at “gruffly played by mickey rourke.” well, at least it looked good lol

Leave a Reply

