The Best Movies Of 2010

These are my favorite films of 2010.

20130108-134955.jpg

19 “Never Let Me Go” “It had never occurred to me that our lives, so closely interwoven, could unravel with such speed. If I’d known, maybe I’d have kept tighter hold of them.”

20130108-135120.jpg

18 “Greenberg” “A shrink said to me once that I have trouble living in the present, so I linger on the past because I felt like I never really lived it in the first place, you know?”

20130108-135338.jpg17 “Easy A” “I might even lose my virginity to him. I don’t know when will it happen. You know, maybe in five minutes, or tonight, or sixth months from now, or maybe on the night of our wedding. But the really amazing this is, it is nobody’s goddamn business.”

20130108-135523.jpg

16 “Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 1” “If you sneeze, the Ministry will know who wipes your nose. Point is we’ll have to use those means of transport the trace can’t detect. Brooms, thestrals, anf the like. We’ll go in pairs, that way if anyones out there waiting for us, and I reckon there will be, they won’t know which Harry Potter is the real one.”

20130108-152130.jpg

15 “127 Hours” “You know, I’ve been thinking. Everything is… just comes together. It’s me. I chose this. I chose all this. This rock… this rock has been waiting for me my entire life. It’s entire life, ever since it was a bit of meteorite a million, billion years ago. In space. It’s been waiting, to come here. Right, right here. I’ve been moving towards it my entire life. The minute I was born, every breath that I’ve taken, every action has been leading me to this crack on the out surface.”

20130108-152407.jpg

14 “Rabbit Hole” “I don’t know… the weight of it, I guess. At some point, it becomes bearable. It turns into something that you can crawl out from under and… carry around like a brick in your pocket. And you… you even forget it, for a while. But then you reach in for whatever reason and – there it is. Oh right, that.”

20130108-152624.jpg

13 “Hereafter” “You know, as a scientist and atheist my mind was closed to such things. Oh, absolutely. Afterlife, near-death experiences Like everyone else, I thought people saw bright lights, Eden-like gardens and so forth because they were culturally conditioned to do so. But after 25 years in a hospice working with people, many of whom were pronounced dead but then miraculously survived. the account of what they actually experienced were so strikingly similar it couldn’t just be coincidence. And add to that the fact that when they had these experiences they were almost all unconscious, a state in which my enemies agree the brain cannot create fresh images.”

20130108-152848.jpg

12 “Winter’s Bone” “What I really can’t stand is the way I feel ashamed… for dad.”

20130108-154020.jpg

11 “Animal Kingdom” “I feel sick about this. I’m not happy at all, not one little bit. But we do what we have to do, we do what we must. Just because we don’t wanna do something doesn’t mean it can’t be done.”

20130108-154250.jpg

10 “Toy Story 3” “Now Woody, he’s been my pal for as long as I can remember. He’s brave, like a cowboy should be. And kind, and smart. But the thing that makes Woody special, is he’ll never give up on you… ever. He’ll be there for you, no matter what.”

20130108-154620.jpg

9 “A Solitary Man” “When my father gave me this place years ago, I used to dream about these girls. Every night, dreams, all kinds of dreams about ’em. But then I’d see them coming back after graduation. They’d come to homecomings, ballgames. They’d sit at the same tables, eat the same food. And I’d look at them and I noticed, they don’t stay like this. None of ’em. They put on years and pounds and wrinkles. And I got one like that at home. So. And we can talk to each other. I know her and I’ll always know her.”

20130108-154938.jpg

8 “Inception” “Dreams feel real while we’re in them. It’s only when we wake up that we realize something was actually strange.”

20130108-155233.jpg

7 “Red Riding Trilogy” “Little girl goes missing, the pack salivates. If it bleeds it leads, right? Eddie Dunford, crime correspondent, back home to take the north. Business first. Dad won’t mind waiting.”

20130108-155356.jpg

6 “The American” “A man can be rich, if he has God in his heart. I don’t think God is very interested in me, Father.”

20130108-155647.jpg

5 “The Ghost Writer” “Spare me the bleeding-heart bullshit! Do you know what I’d do if I was in power again? I’d have two queues at airports: one for flights where we’d done no background checks, infringed on no one’s civil bloody liberties, used no intelligence gained by torture. And on the other flight we’d do everything we possibly could to make it perfectly safe. And then we’d see which plane the Rycarts of this world would put their bloody kids on! And you can put that in the book!”

20130108-155905.jpg

4 “The King’s Speech” “If I’m King, where’s my power? Can I form a government? Can I levy a tax, declare a war? No! And yet I am the seat of all authority. Why? Because the nation believes that when I speak, I speak for them. But I can’t speak.”

20130108-160056.jpg

3 “Monsters” “I’m going to be a meteorologist, because it’s the only job where I can be wrong every day, and not get fired.”

20130108-160306.jpg

2 “The Social Network” “I think if your clients want to sit on my shoulders and call themselves tall, they have the right to give it a try – but there’s no requirement that I enjoy sitting here listening to people lie. You have part of my attention – you have the minimum amount. The rest of my attention is back at the offices of Facebook, where my colleagues and I are doing things that no one in this room, including and especially your clients, are intellectually or creatively capable of doing.”

20130108-160428.jpg

1 “Black Swan” “The final act. Your final dance! You’ve tasted your dream. Touched it! Only to have it crushed. Your heart is broken. Wounded! Your life force fading. The blood drips. The black swan stole your love! There is only one way to end the pain. You’re not fearful, but filled with acceptance! And you look down at Rothbart and then at the Prince. And then yes, and the audience! And then you jump!”

Leave a Reply

