Step Brothers ***

stepbrothers

Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly in “Step Brothers”

A movie like “Step Brothers” is not for everybody.  In fact Will Ferrell’s brand of humor is not for everybody.  I rate his movies simply on whether I laughed or not.  If there is more to the story then just broad humor, such as “Stranger Than Fiction” I am very pleased, but I will always settle for simple laughter.  “Step Brothers” made me laugh loudly.  Plain and simple.  It is totally ridiculous yes, but I laughed hard, resulting in a rather cleansing experience.

The premise is hardly believable.  Yes I can believe that some people can be 40 and living at home still.  But would they still act like they were 12?  I am not so sure.  Even more so, would two parents with 40 something kids get married, ending in a sibling rivalry that results in live burials and savage beatings?  I honestly don’t think so.  But that is the premise we get.  Ferrell and John C. Reilly go at in the most brutal ways, using the most profane language they can, resulting in a movie that will cause you to laugh, if you have a slightly twisted sense of humor.  If you don’t this movie is not for you.

Leave a Reply

