Underworld: Evolution ***

underworld

You know I never thought to give the first movie a chance because the preview was so bad.  To me it looked like a blatant rip off of “The Matrix” and “Blade”.  Then I heard about the sequel and I figured it was going to be more of the same.  Then a group of friends invited me to see this one in the theatres.  So I agreed, but not before seeing the first one.  Something about seeing sequels without seeing the original is something I do not do.

After watching the original “Underworld” I found myself quite surprised.  It was not as bad as I thought it would be.  If I were to give it a rating I would give it a * * 1/2.  Not too bad.  That gave me hope for this sequel.  Again I am surprised to find that I enjoyed this one as well.  Even more actually.  It is pretty much trash, but at least it is enjoyable trash.

Everything about this movie is a rip off.  It looks and sounds like the movies I mentioned above.  The plot involves a war between Vampires and Werewolves.  Kate Beckinsale plays Selene, one of the head vampires.  Her love is a werewolf named Michael (Scott Speedman).  But I was not really in to the plot as much as I was in to the look and feel of the movie.

This is all eye candy.  Every scene looks cold and creepy, and really adds to the overall effect of the film.  The action is right in your face, gritty and violent.  There is no holding back on the gore here.  Any further thought would be more than what the filmmakers put in to it. 

So I guess what I am saying is that this is an enjoyable matinee.  It doesn’t even compare to the films it has borrowed from, but it tries.  I have to give that props at least.

Leave a Reply

