The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe ***

chronicles-of-narnia-the-lion-the-witch-and-the-wardrobe-12

Revisiting the “The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe” causes me to feel like I was unfair to this film the first time around.  Watching it now I find myself absorbed in an enchanted land filled with wondrous creatures and amazing landscapes.  Director Andrew Adamson uses all the tools available to create a convincing Narnia.

What I appreciated the most about this movie is the craft that went in to making it.  A lot of movies these days try to cheat and do everything digitally.  Adamson and his crew use as many physical sets, props and makeup effects to create this world.  Sure CGI is employed but only when it is totally necessary.  Even the digitally created characters are among some of the most realistic I have seen. 

In recent years I have found myself wanting less action and more story in the films that I am seeing.  A lot of directors seem to want to simply throw chaotic visual effects and non stop action at us, in 3D as well!  “The Chronicles of Narnia” takes it’s time to setup the characters, letting them and us to become fully immersed in the story.  The story itself I won’t go in to because it is timeless. 

The only flaw I found in the movie is that it eventually does wind up in a large scale battle between an evil witch’s army and the warriors of Narnia.  This time I found the battle was quite exciting if not unnecessary.  Personally there is a moment in the film where a frozen waterfall suddenly melts and crashes in a moment of pure excitement. 

At two hours and twenty minutes the film never feels long or tedious.  It is a red blooded adventure that can be enjoyed by the whole family. 

Leave a Reply

