The Best Movies Of 2004

These are my favorite films of the year 2004.

20130103-174449.jpg

16 “The Polar Express” “Well, considering that we have lost communication with the engineer, and are standing totally exposed on the front of the locomotive, and the train seems to be accelerating, uncontrollably, not to mention that we are headed to Glacier Gulch, which just happens to be the steepest downhill grade in the world, I suggest we all hold on… TIGHTLY!”

20130103-174645.jpg

15 “The Woodsman” “Little Red Riding Hood! That’s it! That’s it. The Woodsman, he cuts open the wolf’s stomach, the girl comes out without a scratch… You ever see a seven-year-old sodomized in half? She was so small, just broken. I saw 20-year vets on that job. Hard guys, they just broke down and cried. I was there, I cried… There ain’t no fucking woodsman in this world.”

20130103-174828.jpg

14 “Closer” “It’s a lie. It’s a bunch of sad strangers photographed beautifully, and… all the glittering assholes who appreciate art say it’s beautiful ’cause that’s what they wanna see. But the people in the photos are sad, and alone… But the pictures make the world seem beautiful, so… the exhibition is reassuring which makes it a lie, and everyone loves a big fat lie.”

20130103-175058.jpg

13 “Kinsey” “Just one more question. You’ve just told me your entire history: childhood, family, career, every person you’ve ever had sex with. But there hasn’t been a single mention of love.

20130103-175403.jpg

12 “Spider-Man II” “I wanna tell you the truth… here it is: I’m Spider-Man. Weird, huh? Now you know why I can’t be with you. If my enemies found out about you… if you got hurt, I could never forgive myself. I wish I could tell you how I feel about you…”

20130103-194417.jpg

11 “Spartan” “There was a king, and he had a daughter, and she was abducted. The king, he swore to protect her, but while he was indulging himself shamefully, she was abducted. Now, the king’s advisors, they knew that if she came home, she would reveal the king’s shame to the country. So they told the king that she was dead.”

20130103-194724.jpg

10 “Undertow” “Let me see your knife. Can I carve my name in your face?”

20130103-194948.jpg

9 “Collateral” “Okay, look, here’s the deal. Man, you were gonna drive me around tonight, never be the wiser, but El Gordo got in front of a window, did his high dive, we’re into Plan B. Still breathing? Now we gotta make the best of it, improvise, adapt to the environment, Darwin, shit happens, I Ching, whatever man, we gotta roll with it.”

20130103-195506.jpg

8 “The Aviator” “Sometimes I truly fear that I… am losing my mind. And if I did it… it would be like flying blind.”

20130103-200540.jpg

7 “Hotel Rwanda” “There will be no rescue, no intervention for us. We can only save ourselves. Many of you know influential people abroad, you must call these people. You must tell them what will happen to us… say goodbye. But when you say goodbye, say it as if you are reaching through the phone and holding their hand. Let them know that if they let go of that hand, you will die. We must shame them into sending help.”

20130103-200757.jpg

6 “Harry Potter And The Prisoner Of Azkaban” “Mysterious thing, time. Powerful, and when meddled with, dangerous. Sirius Black is in the topmost cell of the dark tower. You know the laws, Miss Granger. You must not be seen, and you would do well, I feel, to return before this last chime. If not, the consequences are too ghastly to discuss. If you succeed tonight, more than one innocent life may be spared. Three turns, should do it, I think.”

20130103-201113.jpg

5 “House Of Flying Daggers” “A rare beauty in the North. She’s the finest lady on earth. A glance from her, the whole city goes down. A second glance leaves the nation in ruins. There exists no city or nation that has been more cherished than a beauty like this.”

20130103-201409.jpg

4 “Million Dollar Baby” “If there’s magic in boxing, it’s the magic of fighting battles beyond endurance, beyond cracked ribs, ruptured kidneys and detached retinas. It’s the magic of risking everything for a dream that nobody sees but you.”

20130103-201648.jpg

3 “Sideways” “How it’s a living thing. I like to think about what was going on the year the grapes were growing; how the sun was shining; if it rained. I like to think about all the people who tended and picked the grapes. And if it’s an old wine, how many of them must be dead by now. I like how wine continues to evolve, like if I opened a bottle of wine today it would taste different than if I’d opened it on any other day, because a bottle of wine is actually alive. And it’s constantly evolving and gaining complexity. That is, until it peaks, like your ’61. And then it begins its steady, inevitable decline. And it tastes so fucking good.”

20130103-202016.jpg

2 “Kill Bill Volume 2” “I’m calling you a killer. A natural born killer. You always have been, and you always will be. Moving to El Paso, working in a used record store, goin’ to the movies with Tommy, clipping coupons. That’s you, trying to disguise yourself as a worker bee That’s you tryin’ to blend in with the hive. But you’re not a worker bee. You’re a renegade killer bee. And no matter how much beer you drank or barbecue you ate or how fat your ass got, nothing in the world would ever change that.”

20130103-202953.jpg

1 “Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind” “If only I could meet someone new. I guess my chances of that happening are somewhat diminished, seeing that I’m incapable of making eye contact with a woman I don’t know.”

Leave a Reply

