The Best Movies Of 2003

These are my favorite films of 2003.

20130102-232140.jpg

12 “House Of Sand And Fog” “Do you understand? Do not feel bad. Americans they do not deserve what they have. They have the eyes of small children who are forever looking for the next source of distraction, entertainment, sweet taste in the mouth. We are not like them. We know rich opportunities when we see them and do not throw away God’s blessing.”

20130102-232359.jpg

11 “Elephant” “Yeah, you did, and I should shoot you right now for it, you know I should. But I think I just might let you live, maybe, because I want you to know this… and the next kids that come up to you with their problems… that they’re being picked on, you should listen to them… no matter what twisted shit they say.”

20130102-232840.jpg

10 “Owning Mahowny” “How would you rate the thrill you got from gambling, on a scale of one to 100?” “Um…100”.

20130102-233335.jpg

9 “Mystic River” “My daughter was murdered. They put a gun to her. As we stand here, she’s on an autopsy slab getting cut open by scalpels and chest spreaders, and you’re talking to me about domestic fucking responsibility? Good to see you, Theo.”

20130102-234111.jpg

8 “The Last Samurai” “Spring, 1877. This marks the longest I’ve stayed in one place since I left the farm at 17. There is so much here I will never understand. I’ve never been a church going man, and what I’ve seen on the field of battle has led me to question God’s purpose. But there is indeed something spiritual in this place. And though it may forever be obscure to me, I cannot but be aware of its power. I do know that it is here that I’ve known my first untroubled sleep in many years.”

20130102-234703.jpg

7 “All The Real Girls” “The first time I had sex, I was thirteen years old, and it was in a cinderblock basement with this older girl that I didn’t know. When we were finished… I was nervous, and I was trying to be cool, and I told a joke and it was just stupid and… she never spoke to me again. I just wanna make sure that a million years from now, I can still see you up close and we’ll still have amazing things to say… I’m gonna go now, okay?”

20130102-235334.jpg

6 “American Splendor” “OK. This guy here, he’s our man, all grown up and going nowhere. Although he’s a pretty scholarly cat, he never got much of a formal education. For the most part, he’s lived in shit neighborhoods, held shit jobs, and he’s now knee-deep into a disastrous second marriage. So, if you’re the kind of person looking for romance or escapism or some fantasy figure to save the day… guess what? You’ve got the wrong movie.”

20130103-000417.jpg

5 “Master And Commander: The Far Side Of The World” “And we are worth more to them undamaged. Their greed… will be their downfall. England is under threat of invasion, and though we be on the far side of the world, this ship is our home. This ship, is England. So it’s every hand to his rope or gun, quick’s the word and sharp’s the action. After all… surprise is on our side.

20130103-000857.jpg

4 “Kill Bill Volume 1” “Do you find me sadistic? You know, I bet I could fry an egg on your head right now, if I wanted to. You know, Kiddo, I’d like to believe that you’re aware enough even now to know that there’s nothing sadistic in my actions. Well, maybe towards those other… jokers, but not you. No Kiddo, at this moment, this is me at my most…masochistic.”

20130103-001345.jpg

3 “Finding Nemo” “I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food.”

20130103-002219.jpg

2 “Lord Of The Rings: The Return Of The King” “Do you remember the Shire, Mr. Frodo? It’ll be spring soon. And the orchards will be in blossom. And the birds will be nesting in the hazel thicket. And they’ll be sowing the summer barley in the lower fields… and eating the first of the strawberries with cream. Do you remember the taste of strawberries?” “No, Sam. I can’t recall the taste of food… nor the sound of water… nor the touch of grass. I’m… naked in the dark, with nothing, no veil… between me… and the wheel of fire! I can see him… with my waking eyes!” “Then let us be rid of it… once and for all! Come on, Mr. Frodo. I can’t carry it for you… but I can carry you!”

20130103-002808.jpg

1 “Lost In Translation” “Your life, as you know it… is gone, never to return. But they learn how to walk, and they learn how to talk and you want to be with them. And they turn out to be the most delightful people you will ever meet in your life.”

Leave a Reply

