The Best Films Of 2001

These are my favorite films of 2001.

20121230-214115.jpg

13 “In The Bedroom” “Do you wanna know why our son is dead? Do you really wanna know? He went there not because of me. He was with her not because of me. He went there because of you. Because you are so controlling, so overbearing, so angry, that he was it! That he was our only son!”

20121230-214403.jpg

12 “Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone” “I remember every wand I’ve ever sold, Mr. Potter. It so happens that the phoenix whose tailfeather resides in your wand gave another feather… just one other. It is curious that you should be destined for this wand when its brother gave you that scar.”

20121230-214617.jpg

11 “Shrek” “Well, actually, that would be a giant. Now ogres, oh, they’re much worse! They’ll make a suit from your freshly peeled skin; they’ll shave your liver; squeeze the jelly from your eyes! Actually, it’s quite good on toast.”

20121230-214928.jpg

10 “The Pledge” “I made a promise, Eric. You’re old enough to remember when that meant something…”

20121230-215501.jpg

9 “Ghost World” “Well, you think it’s healthy to obsessively collect things? You can’t connect with other people, so you fill your life with stuff. I’m just like all the rest of these pathetic collector losers.”

20121230-215717.jpg

8 “Monster’s Ball” “I’ve always believed that a portrait captures a person far better than a photograph. It truly takes a human being to really see a human being.”

20121230-220308.jpg

7 “A Beautiful Mind” “What truly is logic? Who decides reason? My quest has taken me to the physical, the metaphysical, the delusional, and back. I have made the most important discovery of my career – the most important discovery of my life. It is only in the mysterious equations of love that any logic or reasons can be found. I am only here tonight because of you.”

20121230-220631.jpg

6 “The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring” “Men? Men are weak. The Blood of Numenor is all but spent, its pride and dignity forgotten. It is because of Men the Ring survives. I was there, Gandalf. I was there three thousand years ago. I was there the day the strength of Men failed.”

20121230-220955.jpg

5 “Gosford Park” “Well, not really. Most of it takes place at a shooting party in a country house. Sort of like this one, actually. Murder in the middle of the night, a lot of guests for the weekend, everyone’s a suspect. You know, that sort of thing.”

20121230-221705.jpg

4 “Memento” “I meet Sammy through work. Insurance. I was an investigator. I’d investigate the claims to see which ones were phony. I had to see through people’s bullshit. It was useful experience, ’cause now it’s my life.”

20121230-221927.jpg

3 “The Crimson Rivers” “I’m talking about Demons, and you talk to me about the police?”

20121230-222117.jpg

2 “The Royal Tenenbaums” “I’ve always been considered an asshole for about as long as I can remember. That’s just my style. But I’d really feel blue if I didn’t think you were going to forgive me.”

20121230-222406.jpg

1 “Black Hawk Down” “When I go home people’ll ask me, “Hey Hoot, why do you do it man? What, you some kinda war junkie?” You know what I’ll say? I won’t say a goddamn word. Why? They won’t understand. They won’t understand why we do it. They won’t understand that it’s about the men next to you, and that’s it. That’s all it is.”

Leave a Reply

