Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles ***

ninjaturtles

“Ninja Turtles” was a childhood obsession.  When the live action film came out I begged my parents to take me to see it.  When I finally got my chance, it blew my mind.  It was everything I had dreamed of and more.  Revisiting it now, the movie has dated quite a bit.  Maybe I have out grown the Ninja Turtles.  Then again, maybe not.

I don’t think I need to go in to the back story of the Turtles because you are either a fan or not.  What I can say is that the live action adaptation is fairly faithful to the source material.  The action is fun, the comedy is there and the turtle suits look convincing. 

The Ninja Turtles were a trend that came and left pretty quickly.  The two sequels each made considerably less money and their popularity crashed.  But the experience of this film has lasted with me. 

Leave a Reply

